The City of Detroit has contracted with two firms to provide collection of garbage, bulk items, yard waste and recycling services. The Contractor selected for the west side of the City is Advanced Disposal.

Trash Collection

Garbage pickup is on WEDNESDAY of every week for the entire Boston-Edison area. Residential customers will continue to use their existing Courville container. Only one container is authorized per household (unless the homeowner pays an extra fee.) The garbage container must be placed curbside prior to 7 a.m.

Bulk Trash

Pickup of bulk trash is every other week on THURSDAY for the entire Boston-Edison area. Bulk trask pickup runs year-round. Bulk trash must be placed curbside prior to 7 a.m.

Yard Waste

Pickup of yard waste is on the same Thursday as bulk trash pickup. Yard waste pickup runs approximately April 13 - November 20. Yard waste must be placed curbside prior to 7 a.m.

Curbside Recycling

To take part in curbside recycling, residents must sign up online or call (844) 2-DETROIT (233-8764) to request a recycling container. There is a one-time fee of $25 for the container. Residents will receive additional recycling information in the mail. Recycling pickup is every other week on Thursday (but varies through the neighborhood).

Bulk trash, yard waste, and recycling dates for 2017

 
 
Bulk Trash
 
 
Yard Waste
Recycling
(east of
14th St)
Recycling
(west of
Rosa Parks)
Thu Jan 12
Thu Jan 26
noneFri Jan 5
Fri
Jan 20
Thu Jan 12
Thu Jan 26
Thu Feb 9
Thu Feb 23
noneThu Feb 2
Thu Feb 16
Thu Feb 9
Thu Feb 23
Thu Mar 9
Thu Mar 23
noneThu Mar 2
Thu Mar 16
Thu Mar 31
Thu Mar 9
Thu Mar 23
Thu Apr 6
Thu Apr 20
only
Thu Apr 20?
Thu Apr 13
Thu Apr 27
Thu Apr 6
Thu Apr 20
Thu May 4
Thu May 18
Thu May 4
Thu May 18
Thu May 11
Thu May 25
Thu May 4
Thu May 18
Fri Jun 2
Thu Jun 15
Thu Jun 29
Fri Jun 2
Thu Jun 15
Thu Jun 29
Thu Jun 8
Thu Jun 22
Fri Jun 2
Thu Jun 15
Thu Jun 29
Thu Jul 13
Thu Jul 27
Thu Jul 13
Thu Jul 27
Fri Jul 7
Thu Jul 20
Thu Jul 13
Thu Jul 27
Thu Aug 10
Thu Aug 24
Thu Aug 10
Thu Aug 24
Thu Aug 3
Thu Aug 17
Thu Aug 31
Thu Aug 10
Thu Aug 24
Fri Sep 8
Thu Sep 21
Fri Sep 8
Thu Sep 21
Thu Sep 14
Thu Sep 28
Fri Sep 8
Thu Sep 21
Thu Oct 5
Thu Oct 19
Thu Oct 5
Thu Oct 19
Thu Oct 12
Thu Oct 26
Thu Oct 5
Thu Oct 19
Thu Nov 2
Thu Nov 16
Thu Nov 30
Thu Nov 2
Thu Nov 16
Thu Nov 9
Fri Nov 24
Thu Nov 2
Thu Nov 16
Thu Nov 30
Thu Dec 14
Fri Dec 29
noneThu Dec 7
Thu Dec 21
Thu Dec 14
Fri Dec 29
Bulk Trash
 
 
Yard Waste
 
 
Recycling
(east of
14th St)
Recycling
(west of
Rosa Parks)